Gene Tsudik

Gene Tsudik Named a 2024 Guggenheim Fellow

UC Noyce Initiative-funded researcher receives highly competitive honor

UC Noyce Initiative-funded researcher Gene Tsudik was recently (April 11) awarded a 2024 Guggenheim Fellowship. He joins 186 other American and Canadian scientists and scholars receiving this highly competitive honor this year.

Tsudik is a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at UC Irvine. His research interests include many topics in computer security, privacy and applied cryptography. Some of his recent work is focused on security (especially, malware-resistance) for the burgeoning global ecosystem of so-called Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices.

Tsudik’s UC Noyce Initiative project is focused on improving transparency around what personal data is collected online, on mobile apps and in devices. He is working with other UC researchers: Zubair Shafiq, associate professor at UC Davis, and Athina Markopoulou, professor at UC Irvine. Together they are using a combination of technological and policy approaches to try to develop novel auditing tools to evaluate compliance to new and existing data privacy laws by consumers and regulators.

Tsudik is a Fulbright scholar and a three-time Fulbright specialist. He received the 2017 Outstanding Contribution Award from the Association for Computing Machinery’s Special Interest Group on Security, Audit and Control and the 2020 Jean-Claude Laprie Award from the International Federation for Information Processing. He is also the author of the first crypto-poem published as a refereed paper.

Tsudik is the only computer scientist to be awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship this year, and he intends to use his fellowship funding to bootstrap a new line of research on building IoT devices resilient against devastating large-scale malware infestations that have become all too common in recent years.

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has given nearly $400 million in fellowships to more than 19,000 individuals, including over 125 Nobel laureates; members of all the National Academies; winners of the Pulitzer Prize, Fields Medal, Turing Award, Bancroft Prize and National Book Award; and recipients of other internationally recognized honors.

Read the full article from UC Irvine

Primary Category